• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Linux Firewalling - Part 1

gunz

GunzOT Owner
Premium User
Solutions
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a network administrator in my school and I would like to show you my experience about firewalling on linux.
We're going to use a firewall netfilter and tool called iptables. I think every new distros have it compiled default in the kernel so we not need to know how to install it.

Don't try the examples over ssh, cuz you can cut you off!

1. Global policies
Global polices are rules, what tell what to do with packets what don't have any other rule configured.
For example:
Code:
iptables -P INPUT DROP
iptables -A INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport www -j ACCEPT
iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 7171 -j ACCEPT

This tells that any other packets coming to the server except www and 7171 will be dropped. -P is the global policy flag, INPUT is a type of chain what tells that the packet is incoming (not outgoing), and DROP is to drop the packets, what don't have any other rule.

2. Chains
We have 3 default chains in iptables. They are INPUT, OUTPUT and FORWARD.
INPUT - incomming connections to the server (example: someone is connecting to the server)
OUTPUT - outgoing connections from server (example: you are trying to connect some server)
FORWARD - this chain is for routing only, we don't need it now...

3. Packet actions
There are some actions what we can do with the packets.
ACCEPT - packet will be accepted
DROP - packet will be dropped
QUEUE - send packet to some user-proccess for check

4. Rules to specify packet

4.1 - Source address

Source address is the address from packet is incoming. Syntax of this rule is -s network/mask.
Example:
Code: