How to get FREE VPS from Oracle Cloud

Extrodus

One day at a time <3
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
2,416
Solutions
2
Reaction score
353
Location
Canada, Eh?
Someone reported to me that he has lost access to his machines and all data after 30 days. I searched in Google and it's common problem - first reports from 2019.
Random people lose access to Oracle account after 30 days with message Your account has been disabled due to either tenant/user disable operation..

// my server runs for almost 4 months
// my friend made 4 accounts and run 4 core ARM on each of them to mine crypt - he has no problems for 3 months

Currently running for 2 months of "free tier" and 1 month of paid. Servers are super fast and responsive, and less expensive than AWS.
 

kamilcioo

Veteran OT User
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
962
Solutions
1
Reaction score
279
Anyone had problem with sign up? Tried with 2 credit cards (both work, 1 Visa and 1 mastercard) and still can't manage to sign up.
 

Olddies

Classicot.com
Premium User
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
1,160
Solutions
12
Reaction score
293
Location
Rep.Dom
Anyone had problem with sign up? Tried with 2 credit cards (both work, 1 Visa and 1 mastercard) and still can't manage to sign up.
I think they eventually block some of them don’t know why but if you want a server from europe they are gone, you can choose canada right now
 
OP
OP
Gesior.pl

Gesior.pl

Mega Noob&LOL 2012
Senator
Premium User
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
2,595
Solutions
72
Reaction score
2,449
Location
Poland
GitHub
gesior
// my friend made 4 accounts and run 4 core ARM on each of them to mine crypt - he has no problems for 3 months
don’t know why
Maybe because people like my friend create 4 accounts with 4 credit cards and spend 300$ in first month on 4x 16 core ARM VPS to mine crypto.
Anyone had problem with sign up? Tried with 2 credit cards (both work, 1 Visa and 1 mastercard) and still can't manage to sign up.
Yes. Some banks/credit cards are banned.
In last month a lot of people tried to register to mine crypto on free servers. Now many credit cards are not accepted in registration form. Probably, because these bank users tried to create multiple accounts.
As I said, it still worth trying. 5 minutes to register and check, if you card is banned and you can get for free VPS worth ~55$ per month.
 

pink_panther

Premium User
Premium User
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
927
Solutions
13
Reaction score
411
Location
Kazordoon
I tried to setup a server and no resources were available. Had a nightmare dealing with their interface and their support.

I'd rather pay 20 bucks a month than deal with this bullshit ever again.
 

kamilcioo

Veteran OT User
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
962
Solutions
1
Reaction score
279
About:
Disclaimer: otservbr - vcpkg compilation - does not work on ARM processors

I hope it helps someone that also installed Oracle free VPS :)
Thanks, saved me some searching.
After 4th point you can just "sudo ln -s /opt/cmake-3.23/bin/* /usr/local/bin" and it should be enough.


Copy & paste script:

sudo -s
cd /opt
wget https://github.com/Kitware/CMake/releases/download/v3.23.0-rc2/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
./cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
Enter few times, then y enter y enter
ln -s /opt/cmake-3.23/bin/* /usr/bin
 

Peonso

Godly Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
1,692
Solutions
30
Reaction score
1,397
I was able to compile OTHire in it no problem. Since I'm totally noob gonna need some more time to setup the entire server in this Linux thing, but thanks nonetheless @Gesior.pl.
 

pixita

New Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
Is it possible to compile TFS 1.5 (8.6 downgrade by nekiro) for ARM?

I tried this but didn't work :/

I guess i will end up using AMD VPS... For now my server only consumes 70-80 mb RAM ...

About:
Disclaimer: otservbr - vcpkg compilation - does not work on ARM processors


I could actually compile canary repository here :)
In this case, we need to update the cmake to a newer version
1 - download https://github.com/Kitware/CMake/releases/download/v3.23.0-rc2/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
2 - move cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh to /opt folder
3 - sudo bash cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
4 - type "y" twice during the installation
5 - Add it to PATH
5.1 - vim ~/.bashrc
5.2 - add in the end:
Lua:
export PATH=$PATH:/opt/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64/bin
5.3 - save it and reload using "source ~/.bashrc"

and also need to set this flag VCPKG_FORCE_SYSTEM_BINARIES=1
1 - vim ~/.bashrc
2 - add in the end:
Lua:
export VCPKG_FORCE_SYSTEM_BINARIES=1
3 - save it and reload using "source ~/.bashrc"


With this config, you should be able to compile otservbr on arm processors following their steps: Compiling on Debian or Ubuntu · opentibiabr/canary Wiki (https://github.com/opentibiabr/canary/wiki/Compiling-on-Debian-or-Ubuntu)

I hope it helps someone that also installed Oracle free VPS :)
 

drakylucas

Intermediate OT User
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
232
Solutions
7
Reaction score
114
Is it possible to compile TFS 1.5 (8.6 downgrade by nekiro) for ARM?

I tried this but didn't work :/

I guess i will end up using AMD VPS... For now my server only consumes 70-80 mb RAM ...
It should be possible. Tfs doesn't even make use of vcpkg. Just follow the steps from official github

 

pixita

New Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
3
Reaction score
1
It should be possible. Tfs doesn't even make use of vcpkg. Just follow the steps from official github


EDIT : Oh It is working! Thank you <3


Oh i didn't know that, so i should follow those steps and compile it with the VPS Arm machine. Right? (If i compile with my VM Ubuntu machine would't work)

Sorry im a newbie compaling, i did on windows with visual studio but never for ubuntu / Ampere.

Thank for ur time :)
 
Last edited:

johnsamir

Banned User
Joined
Oct 13, 2009
Messages
558
Solutions
5
Reaction score
96
Location
Nowhere
is there any other method have tried this, google cloud, microsoft azure and all of them are not accepting debit card anymore amazon aws does but im facing problems receiving the phone call in order to enable features
 
OP
OP
Gesior.pl

Gesior.pl

Mega Noob&LOL 2012
Senator
Premium User
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
2,595
Solutions
72
Reaction score
2,449
Location
Poland
GitHub
gesior
About:
Disclaimer: otservbr - vcpkg compilation - does not work on ARM processors


I could actually compile canary repository here :)
In this case, we need to update the cmake to a newer version
1 - download https://github.com/Kitware/CMake/releases/download/v3.23.0-rc2/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
2 - move cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh to /opt folder
3 - sudo bash cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64.sh
4 - type "y" twice during the installation
5 - Add it to PATH
5.1 - vim ~/.bashrc
5.2 - add in the end:
Lua:
export PATH=$PATH:/opt/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64/bin
5.3 - save it and reload using "source ~/.bashrc"

and also need to set this flag VCPKG_FORCE_SYSTEM_BINARIES=1
1 - vim ~/.bashrc
2 - add in the end:
Lua:
export VCPKG_FORCE_SYSTEM_BINARIES=1
3 - save it and reload using "source ~/.bashrc"


With this config, you should be able to compile otservbr on arm processors following their steps: Compiling on Debian or Ubuntu · opentibiabr/canary Wiki (https://github.com/opentibiabr/canary/wiki/Compiling-on-Debian-or-Ubuntu)

I hope it helps someone that also installed Oracle free VPS :)
This worked for me, but first I had to remove cmake installed from system: apt remove cmake
Installing new version of cmake on Ubuntu:
Code:
apt remove cmake
cd /opt/
wget https://github.com/Kitware/CMake/releases/download/v3.23.1/cmake-3.23.1-linux-aarch64.sh
chmod +x cmake-3.23.1-linux-aarch64.sh
bash cmake-3.23.1-linux-aarch64.sh
# hold Enter to scroll down license, type 'y' and 'Y'
ln -s /opt/cmake-3.23.1-linux-aarch64/bin/* /usr/local/bin/
I did not add export PATH=$PATH:/opt/cmake-3.23.0-rc2-linux-aarch64/bin to .bashrc and it worked.
 
Top