• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

How to make your server safe against hacking?

luq14

Cookie Cotton Joe's
Reaction score
Hello. I would start this thread because I'm working on a big big big OT project solo. I'm artist so I focus on map and story, the map is my baby. And.. When I finally publish the server, I don't want to get it stolen... I'm not a programmer, so I need help. Please. :)
What tricks do You have to protect your OTserv and it's website?

• Not that this prevents it, but first it's important to host the game and the web separately.
  • The sourcer you can protect using it only when compiling (when finished, save it on your computer and delete from server).
  • Grep -r "readfile" on your web to check if you have this malicious code (it + $_request you could end up hurting yourself).
  • Never invite anyone you don't trust to use anyDesk or TeamView, as it can copy files without your noticing
  • Sprites you can't protect 100%, there is encryptions but some guys know how to decrypt it
  • As I know, map you can't protect yet (there is few types of map track)

• Not that this prevents it, but first it's important to host the game and the web separately.
  • The sourcer you can protect using it only when compiling (when finished, save it on your computer and delete from server).
  • Grep -r "readfile" on your web to check if you have this malicious code (it + $_request you could end up hurting yourself).
  • Never invite anyone you don't trust to use anyDesk or TeamView, as it can copy files without your noticing
  • Sprites you can't protect 100%, there is encryptions but some guys know how to decrypt it
  • As I know, map you can't protect yet (there is few types of map track)
Good list.