• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

C/C++ Nikkster's C/C++ Programming School

Nikkster

Programmer
Reaction score
Hi people!

First of all, I'm not a expert programmer, I'm a student (the same as you are) but I am more than glad to share the experience I already have in C/C++ with my fellow OpenTibia community.

First of all; What is C/C++ good for and how many jobs are there available for C++ programmers?
If I'm not wrong, there are around 5000 jobs available for C++ programmers, so it's a good job and you will get paid good. Good programmers usually have $3000/month in salary, so definitely not a bad thing to go for if you like computers and would like to get a little bit closer your processor & RAM etc.

Let's start.

Lesson 1: Your first program

In this lesson, my point is that you will come a little bit closer on how written C/C++ programs looks like. Some language constructs demonstrates and commented upon but far from all possibilities in C.

Now we are going to learn the most basic and how you create your first program in a terminal (usually MSDOS if you're using Windows) and terminal if you're using Linux. However, we can start by downloading a C/C++ compiler which is called: DEVC++ for windows users. You can download the software here: The Dev-C++ Resource Site

Once you have downloaded the program, create a new project and start the compiler. We start by writing the sources, write this:

Code:
#include <stdio.h>
int main ()
{
    printf("Hi people! This is what I have learnt so far from Nikkster's C++ school. \n");
    return 0;
}