• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

What needs to be modified to create a new ring?

JConor

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time trying to do a modification for an otserver and I want to experiment doing something easy like modifying a ring, but I couldn't find what needs to be modified to create a new ring.

I have the next questions:

1- First, I want to create a new "item", because this will be a new ring (e.g. might look exactly as a life ring, but will do different things)
I guess for this I must add the new ring on "items.xml" with a unique ID and a new name, right?

2- Where do I declare what this ring is going to do?
E.g. Life ring gives 8 mp and 2 hp every 6 seconds, in which file can I see this?

3- Should any other file be modified in order to make my new the ring work?

Thanks!

I would start to look where life rings gets it’s modification in witch files and then u can just add the new ring item id there and with the attributes u want it to have :)

itmes.otb items. xml and movements
Thanks, I checked all the files and seems good.

But I couldn't find where is the lua code which defines what the life ring is going to do.
Where is this file that says "Life ring gives 8 mp and 2 hp every 6 seconds"
Or is that in C++?

Regards.

first of all, you gave us no information at all of which server you are using, so I'm going to assume tfs 1.x

the regeneration is defined on the data/items/items.xml just search for life ring and copy it

btw for creating a new ring with same sprite you would need to edit your client files as well and your players also would need to download a custom client in order to see it and not crash the client

In your items.xml, search for the equipped life ring (ID 2205)