How to see which ports are being used and by what

Discussion in 'Basic' started by Zisly, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. Zisly

    Zisly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,349
    I will show you how to find out which ports are being used and by what.

    • Start by running command, do that by; start>run>command
    • Now type netstat -ao, now a you should see a big list, scroll up a bit until it looks something like this;
      [​IMG]
      The number which is in red is the port.
    • If you read under "PID" you will see a number, thats the PID id, write that number down when you want to see what process it is.
    • Now press ctrl+alt+delete to bring up the taskmanager.
    • Click view>Select columns.. and then check "PID (process identifier) " and press ok.
      [​IMG]
      [​IMG]
    • Ok, now you have a new column called 'PID' now simply look for the PID id which you wrote down earlier and you will see what procces is using your port.

    Done, now you know what is using that specific port.
    Hope you understood the tutorial.

    Rep is gladly accepted :)
    semozo likes this.
  2. Zisly

    Zisly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,349
    Bump Bump
  3. Saj

    Saj Remember my name

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,128
    Great tutorial, helped me a lot, good job.
  4. Zisly

    Zisly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,349
  5. Danny565

    Danny565 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Uuhm... when i type netstat -ao, the screen comes up for about 2-3 seconds before the "black screen" shut down. what should i do to make it "stand still"?
  6. Danny565

    Danny565 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    And no, i didnt understand the tutorial x]
    What is the process using my port thing?
    What does it mean?
  7. soloincc

    soloincc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    You are probably typing netstat -ao in the command prompt and thats why the "black screen" shuts down before seeing a thing.

    Type cmd first once you select start->Run and then in the black screen type netstat -ao and you should see the results
  8. Sarojg

    Sarojg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
  9. bunk87

    bunk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Is it possible to find out what a port is being used for that's not on that current system?

Share This Page