• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

A Tibia rework - a few questions

Rotflturion

I like Toes
Reaction score
Hello ladies and sirs.

I am planning on building a server that will be a totally reworked Tibia - [every single sprite in the game edited to give it an unique look, added gameplay mechanics (like heavy crafting - which will also require making most of the items from scratch), heavy death penalty (there will be no AOL or blessings, you craft your own gear, you go in battle, you risk losing it), basically tailoring a different gameplay experience as far from the modern candycorn Tibia as possible (nowadays the game seems like a kindergarden trying to milk as much money from the remaining players as possible)]

I am a graphic artist and a programmer with years of experience with Tibia in general, and Open Tibia Server - I have been playing Tibia since early 2000, and playing with OTS since the very first versions [which did not have walking monsters or different map height levels then]

I also do realize the amount of work that would have to be put in such a project - there are tenths of thousands of sprites to be edited alone, not even speaking of the scripting and programming side of it. It is not a week, or a month-time fancy, but a long time project. I am not pressed by time, I have a stable financial situation and I'm not terminally ill - therefore I do not push to release as soon as possible, or give up easily. I am not [currently] looking for any team, artists, mappers, sponsors or whatever.

[TL:DR]:
I do have a couple starting questions tho, before I begin.

1. Hows the legal situation with the game at this point? Any experiences?