• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Clear my mind (hosting)

Testerus

Intermediate OT User
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am a beginner at these.
I never understoot how this works.
So if someone could clear my mind it would be awesome.
First of all, what's hosting? In what does this consist? Do I have to buy "one" to be able to have my server run 24/7? From where can I buy such a thing? How? Am I supposed to run on Linux? If yes, why?
How do I start my server if it runs on that host? Does that host take the site too?
How much does it cost for let's say: A RealMap 8.6 server running windows with anti DDoS included? For one month?

I would be grateful to read the answers of all my questions if possible.
Thank you a lot!

Kind regards,

Hi,
You can buy this hosting to host your server 24/7 together with a website. The cost depends on the memory, say you need 6 GB RAM (typical for a real map), it would cost 60 EUR / month to host it on my hosting.

This is not the only option you have, you can explore other servers but mine is the only one that comes professionally preconfigured and hardened for this particular purpose. Let me know and I can set up a server for you for free for test period.

Hello everyone! I am a beginner at these.
I never understoot how this works.
So if someone could clear my mind it would be awesome.
First of all, what's hosting? In what does this consist? Do I have to buy "one" to be able to have my server run 24/7? From where can I buy such a thing? How? Am I supposed to run on Linux? If yes, why?
How do I start my server if it runs on that host? Does that host take the site too?
How much does it cost for let's say: A RealMap 8.6 server running windows with anti DDoS included? For one month?