• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

[Python] Basics

Ispiro

Reaction score
I've already made a tutorial like this for Lua, but just for me, I'm going to make 1 for Python. I'm learning as I write this: I have no prior experience with Python.
In this thread, I'll tell you about variables, if - then checks, functions, and their parameters. Also, information in this thread can be questionable. As I mentioned before, I have no experience with Python, and I'm learning as I type.
I'll be copying the other tutorial, and editing where necessary.
If you already know Lua, this will be easy.

Basics of Programming

Important before starting: TABS ARE A MUST! YOU MUST HAVE THAT LITTLE SPACE BEFORE TEXT!

Well, first I'd like to start off by explaining what's a variable. A variable is a place where you store a value, whether it's a string or number.
You can assign a value to the variable by using the '=' sign, for example:
Code:
variable = 1
Note: the term variable is what you want to refer to the variable by(you'll probably understand what I mean later on in the thread)
You can read variables and check it's contents.
Code:
print variable
Using an interpreter, that should print out 1. But what now? What's the use of assigning a value to a variable?
Well, first and most basic statement used in almost all languages is the if then statement. By reading a variable for it's contents and doing an action according to what it's holding.
Code:
variable = 1
if variable == 1:
	print "variable is equal to 1"
Note: To evaluate a variable, you must use double '='s. You would only use 1 equal sign to assign a value to a variable.