• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Game idea

dday9

Reaction score
I'm a pretty decent programmer. I know vb.net very well, c# ok, and c++... ehh. Anyways, I've already created quite a few games:
  1. Pong
  2. Brick Breaker
  3. Tic-Tac-Toe
  4. Tron - Lightcycles
  5. Hangman
  6. Connect4
  7. Plinko
  8. Simon

the two most recent achievements that I've done is I've created a 2d tile map engine and a 2d tile map creator. So what I'm wanting to do is create a 2d tile based RPG. It won't be an MMO, just an RPG. So my question to y'all is... should I try to recreate a game, if so which game, or should I try and create my own(I'm not very creative...)?

- - - Updated - - -

I take it that these forums don't get a lot of post anymore?

My problem is that I'm not creative. Should I pay someone to write me up a story line, or just try to think of something?

If it's a learning experience, put whatever in it really. Whatever you feel could be fun, put it in and fuck around with it :D
Something along Zelda or Pokemon could be nice though if you wanna get people to also try it out, there's a demand on those it seems. If you wanna take on some other genre, you could go for a platformer

My problem is that I'm not creative. Should I pay someone to write me up a story line, or just try to think of something?

You should try reading League of Legend's lore and making a game out of it :D

Something along Zelda or Pokemon could be nice though if you wanna get people to also try it out, there's a demand on those it seems.

That's what I was thinking. The map editor/engine has a Zelda/Pokémon/Tibia feel too it. Only the engine has more of a Tibia feel where the map moves and the character stays in the same place.