Having problem compiling source

Discussion in 'Support' started by Lopaskurwa, May 2, 2018.

  1. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
  2. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
  3. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
  4. CipsoftStinks

    CipsoftStinks www.relicaria.com

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    74
    Best Answers:
    2
    did you read wha i've told you?? you wrongly installed the libraries.... update you vm (check how to do it at google) then re-install the libraries to compile
     
  5. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    update vm? Why do i need to update vm if i decided to stay with windows? To compile source that support windows i have to use vs not a vm.
     
  6. Mr Trala

    Mr Trala Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    About your original error:
    You're using Boost 1.62 while you need 1.60 (I know tutorial gives you 1.66 but I got that same problem with that one)~ Also C/C++ and Linker should be configured like this:
    C/C++
    [​IMG]

    Linker:
    [​IMG]

    Also made sure is configured like this:
    [​IMG]

    Good luck.
     
  7. CipsoftStinks

    CipsoftStinks www.relicaria.com

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    74
    Best Answers:
    2
    you never posted that you decided to come back to windows... gl
     
    Okke likes this.
  8. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    So wait where do i have to link those new sources in vs? I'm pretty confused ;D
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Mr Trala

    Mr Trala Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    You will see this in English but is basically the same:

    Right click your solution and click Properties:
    [​IMG]

    There you have the options C/C++ and Linker (Vinculador in my language):
    [​IMG]

    There is where you add what I told you.
     
  10. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    Yea i know where to add them, but i asking do i need to add src files to? Or only i need to add stuff from tfs-sdk-3.2 and boost? Because if i need to add stuff only from tfs-sdk and boost how is that even source compile? Because if i change something in (player.cpp) i have to compile that stuff, so my question is do i have to add "src files, tfs-sdk, and boost"?
     
  11. Okke

    Okke Voidcore 7.4

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    406
    Best Answers:
    15
    Best Answer
    Hello,

    I'm tired of getting bump alerts all day long on these kinds of threads so I sat down and made a video specially for you @Lopaskurwa. If you can't get it done after that I'll help you out here but I'm most probably going to unwatch this thread, not because I don't feel like helping you anymore but by seeing your "will" to get something done getting smashed so fast after a few failed attempts, which is a pity when you want to create something.

    Here is the video, I hope you can understand me and learn something out of that.



    Here's also a list of commands you'll need to use and their description (what they're for):

    CTRL+ALT+T = Open a Terminal
    ls -l = List files inside a Directory
    cd = Change Directory
    cd .. = Goes back one Directory (Like clicking on the <- Button in any graphical window)
    ./ = Executes a File (./tfs is needed to run the server)

    All the other commands are included at this page I also visited while recording the video: otland/forgottenserver.

    Kindest Regards,
    Okke
     
    Lopaskurwa likes this.
  12. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    Thanks for tutorial. So i will answer your question why i want to compile source, because i changed some lines in "player.cpp" source file so if i want to save those changes i have to compile that file because its not enough to save with notepad so i have to compile it with vs or with ubuntu like everyone told me. So i got first problem i cant use "git clone" command it says command "git" not found. So i tried this command apt install git but it says
    e: could not open lock file
    e: unable to lock the administration directory
     
  13. Okke

    Okke Voidcore 7.4

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    406
    Best Answers:
    15
    Start with a complete new Virtual Machine, simple as download ubuntu: http://releases.ubuntu.com/16.04/ubuntu-16.04.4-desktop-amd64.iso, setup a machine with 4GB RAM and around 20GB Disk Space. Boot the machine from the .iso file (there are tutorials on how to do it online aswell), install the system. After you're done with that just do exact what I've done on my video.
     
  14. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    Bruh, now i cant even choose virtual optical dick file says invalid settings detected. So i suppose because i choose 4gb of rams
     
  15. Okke

    Okke Voidcore 7.4

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    406
    Best Answers:
    15
    Please just watch any tutorial online on how to run ubuntu on a virtual machine, follow it through...I can't do much more for you.
     
  16. Mr Trala

    Mr Trala Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    I think you need to read a bit on how VS works, what you just told me made no sense, sorry.
     
  17. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    So yea i compiled everything successfully so i understand that now i have to work with my server in ubuntu virtual machine? Because there is data folder every lua and etc stuff right? P.s i compiled not my server :D so if i want to compile my server i have to upload it in github? and then make git clone with my server link?
     
  18. CipsoftStinks

    CipsoftStinks www.relicaria.com

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    74
    Best Answers:
    2
    no its not nesesary at all you put the files into your virtual machine
     
  19. Lopaskurwa

    Lopaskurwa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    2
    Put my files into virtual machine so you mean from my main pc to virtual machine just by dragging it? And i wondering if it's linux, so i suppose it doesn't support localhost 127.0.0.1? So by far all i can say linux is way way harder then windows. But yea i think we can close this thread now because i know how to compile source with ubuntu but right now i will stick with windows and when i done configuring my source i'll compile my server to linux. Thanks for help guys :)
     
  20. CipsoftStinks

    CipsoftStinks www.relicaria.com

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    74
    Best Answers:
    2
    you have to do it via winscp its a program check at youtube how to send files with it to your vm
     

Share This Page

Loading...