• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

How did you learn to script?

Apollos

Dude who does stuff
Solutions
Reaction score
Looking to find the best route to learn scripting for OT's wondering how you started and what tools you would suggest to use in order to learn how to create your own scripts. I'm curious as to how many are self taught through working on OT's and how many took some actual classes to learn.

Copy + paste someones scripts and then, modifying them a bit to match your needs.
This is the best way to learn, doesn't matter what you are going to learn. Such method is used in all schools around the world.

Useful programs and things:
1. Notepad++
2. auto-completion for Notepad++ with TFS functions and cons.
3. Knowledge how to search in google, I mean usage of special characters in search box. This helps with searching things on OTLand and elsewhere.

Be a programmer, scripter, mapper, tester and a gamer - this will make you the most complete game maker.
Simple programmer can't understand players' needs if he isn't playing his games. This is like Cipsoft with thier shit ideas, ex: magic wall behavior on non-pvp servers.

Last edited:
I think the best way to learn is to have motivation & fun :) This is the only thing you need as you will learn the rest along the way ;)

Last edited:
i first started by looking through datapacks and editing some scripts to see if they would work
then i tried creating my first server a month after doing so but i never actually looked up any lua tutorials at the time so i was horrible
about a year later i got back into learning lua, i mainly learned from lua tutorials from lua-users and lua.org + asking others