• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Wanderer 2D - c++ game project

nasu

Reaction score
GitHub
KrwawyOrk
welcome!
I have been thinking for a long time about presenting my project to people. I've been programming this game for a few years but I keep taking long breaks and unfortunately the game looks like I've been developing it for a week hehe. The project was created while learning C++ and the SDL graphics library.

This is a description of the plot, which was born in my head while drinking beer:
The player's task is to collect repair items and start the spaceship engine... I can't think of anything better.

What I already have:
  • loading a map from a txt file
  • You can attack monsters
  • inventory window
  • simple, small map editor

Unfortunately I didn't manage to implement pathfinding for monsters so they move in random directions. All graphical elements I created myself except for people and monsters graphics.

I am making the source code of this game available if anyone wants to read it out of curiosity, but I warn you it is spaghetti code badly organised.
github: GitHub - KrwawyOrk/Wanderer-2D: Wanderer 2D is a simple RPG project written in C++ as a learning experience. The game uses SDL 1 graphics library and takes place in underground laboratories. The player has to start the engine of a spaceship. (https://github.com/KrwawyOrk/Wanderer-2D)

Short gameplay video:

I would also like to add that at the time I started making this game, game engines like Unity and Unreal were not popular, and I don't think Unity even existed. Back then Ogre3D and Irrlicht 3D were used, but those tools were too complicated for my C++ knowledge.

Awesome job dude. For a weeks amount of work, you've covered a lot of features!