0.2.10: a bug-fix release, and a note to XAMPP users.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fury

OtLand's Mascot
Board Moderator
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
23
Best answers
0
Reaction score
9
From The Forgotten Server development blog:
A new version of the 0.2 series has been released. This version is mostly a bug-fix release, and everyone using version 0.2.9 or older is advised to update. It fixes the annoying Lua script errors in the player death script and the NPC system and a few other issues. We hope to introduce more features in the next release. You can find the new version here: http://otland.net/f18/8-7-8-71-forgo...spirit-117046/.

To keep the 0.3 users updated; I can say that the private development branch is still not ready to be released to public. It has a few serious bugs that must be addressed first, but once they are I will be notifying elf to release the new version.

IMPORTANT NOTE TO XAMPP USERS: Although it is not very relevant to this topic, I would also like to notify everyone who is using XAMPP 1.7.3 (or anything with an outdated version of PHP for that matter) to update to XAMPP 1.7.4 (or just a newer version of PHP if you aren't using XAMPP). The older version has an issue that causes PHP to hang, and it will stop responding to other requests until PHP has been restarted. Users running the 64-bit version of PHP are not affected, but it wouldn't hurt to keep your software up to date.​
 

Evan

A splendid one to behold
Premium User
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
7,017
Best answers
1
Reaction score
942
Location
United States
I thought 0.3 was being discontinued and the work is going towards 0.4 branch?
 

Mark

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
6,389
Best answers
21
Reaction score
1,388
Location
Sweden
No, 0.4 development hasn't started yet. The current code in trunk in our private development subversion is the final version of 0.3, but it's not finished yet.
 

Madlander

Madlander
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
308
Best answers
0
Reaction score
12
Location
Madland
Thanks for the notice, i will awaiting for the 0.4 :)

Really need it XD
 

Evan

A splendid one to behold
Premium User
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
7,017
Best answers
1
Reaction score
942
Location
United States
So, all the revisions and compilations on the premium boards are not 0.4?
 

krysteek

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
25
Best answers
0
Reaction score
0
:) I will wait for version 0.3 :)

Redgards,
KrysteK!
 

Diazapam

!ROFLMAO!
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
1,411
Best answers
0
Reaction score
9
Location
$_GET['Country']
i guess what hes saying is that they havnt started with 0.4 yet since the 8.7 update
What hes saying is that whats currently on the private svn (premium board) is not 0.4 yet, they will fix major bugs and than release it as being the final 0.3 version.
After that they can start with 0.4
 

GuHB

Intermediate OT User
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
630
Best answers
0
Reaction score
9
Location
Brazil
Thanks for it but, who use Xampp? omg
 

Paxton

Banned User
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
4,110
Best answers
0
Reaction score
46
Location
London, UK
I don't really think the bug with PHP affects our community, because it happens when we try to float the number which Pietia wrote before, after checking float is not used either in Gesior or Modern AAC for user input, so no worries about it.
 

Mark

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
6,389
Best answers
21
Reaction score
1,388
Location
Sweden
I don't really think the bug with PHP affects our community, because it happens when we try to float the number which Pietia wrote before, after checking float is not used either in Gesior or Modern AAC for user input, so no worries about it.
It does affect our community, both Gesior and Modern AAC. I wouldn't have posted it if it didn't.
 

Paxton

Banned User
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
4,110
Best answers
0
Reaction score
46
Location
London, UK
It does affect our community, both Gesior and Modern AAC. I wouldn't have posted it if it didn't.
As far as I know it doesnt. Quoted from php.net latest news:
This release resolves a critical issue, reported as PHP bug #53632 and CVE-2010-4645, where conversions from string to double might cause the PHP interpreter to hang on systems using x87 FPU registers.
I've never seen either in Gesior or in Modern use of (double) or (float) for user input but always (int) which will just return 2 in case of this bug.

Here is a script that you might guys run in order to see if your system is vulnerable to this issue. (in command line)
http://php.net/distributions/test_bug53632.txt

Either way you should always have things updated to the latest stable version.
 

Migxxx

◥▶◀◤
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
1,620
Best answers
0
Reaction score
19
Location
/dev/ttyS*
I've never seen either in Gesior or in Modern use of (double) or (float) for user input but always (int) which will just return 2 in case of this bug.[/url]

Either way you should always have things updated to the latest stable version.
lrn2setdatatype... m'just syng.
 

Stellow

C++/C#/PHP/LUA
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,019
Best answers
0
Reaction score
132
Location
Germany
start 7.x series :) hahaha its really need, i think need more servers 7.x, i mean, good servers.
 

Herpicus

Web Developer
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,644
Best answers
0
Reaction score
85
Location
British Columbia
As far as I know it doesnt. Quoted from php.net latest news:


I've never seen either in Gesior or in Modern use of (double) or (float) for user input but always (int) which will just return 2 in case of this bug.

Here is a script that you might guys run in order to see if your system is vulnerable to this issue. (in command line)
http://php.net/distributions/test_bug53632.txt

Either way you should always have things updated to the latest stable version.
Talaturen: PWNT HARD!

What the matter Delirium? You still scared?
 

Mark

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
6,389
Best answers
21
Reaction score
1,388
Location
Sweden
As far as I know it doesnt. Quoted from php.net latest news:


I've never seen either in Gesior or in Modern use of (double) or (float) for user input but always (int) which will just return 2 in case of this bug.

Here is a script that you might guys run in order to see if your system is vulnerable to this issue. (in command line)
http://php.net/distributions/test_bug53632.txt

Either way you should always have things updated to the latest stable version.
I'll just repeat, it does affect our community. Including Gesior and Modern AAC.
 

Fu Manchu

Sepultra™
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
439
Best answers
0
Reaction score
9
Talaturen knows all and if he says it does then it does. lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top