• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Dedicated or Not?

atomic chavez

Hi there
Reaction score
Well I have been playing around in my personal computer with TFS and I was thinking on going online.
I have been thinking on buying a dedicated with linux.
here are the specifications.
Intel Pentium IV, 3.4 GHz
1024 MB DDR2-RAM
160 GB SATA / 7200 RPM
3000 GB Bandwidth included
How many people without lag will It hold?

Also, since I am new to all linux thing I think it will take me some time to get started so I was also thinking It might be a better idea if I get my friends new computer to run my server for a while and see how it goes. The computer has 200gbs hard drive
2gb ram probably 2.2+GHz Intel centrino. The big problem is that Since I live in Mexico internet is waaay to slow. I could pay 30 dollars extra on my phone bill to upgrade my bandwith to 4mbps down/1mbps up. Sooo, how many people will this hold?

So overall, what do you guys think I should do? I might start my OT at my house with friends computer just to begin with, maybe I even install linux on the new computer to start playing around.

I would aim on 180~~

I don't think so.

Mexico's internet speed really sucks.

I am supposed to get 1000kb/s download speed <- lol?, AND I GET 100kb/s and upload 100kb/s and I get like 10kb/s or 20kb/s...

You will need to get a dedicated server for sure, dude.

How many people without lag will It hold?
With an unix system? 200.

Also, since I am new to all linux thing I think it will take me some time to get started so I was also thinking It might be a better idea if I get my friends new computer to run my server for a while and see how it goes. The computer has 200gbs hard drive