• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Ever been limited in mapping by not having proper sprites?

Anevis

Cool guy
Reaction score
Hello guys!
I'm a pixel/sprite artist.
I made this thread to have a discussion on:

*How were you limited by lack of proper sprites in mapping.
*Or how your vision wasn't possible due to lack of assets (not suitable walls, objects, borders, textures or animations).
*What would you add to map sprites, if you could?

*You don't need to be a mapper to take part in this discussion. Have you ever seen and said to yourself something could be made differently, better?
Maybe Tibia's grass is too candy? Couldn't achieve horror atmosphere on your location?

Feel free to provide some screenshot examples or pictures to help describe your problem/idea.

Why I'm making this thread?
I'm doing in-depth research in this topic. I want to figure out new possibilities and alternative solutions.

Heres some of things i came up:
*more big/multi-floor trees;
*more north/west direction stairs;
*universal water borders;
*more ruin-themed sprites;
*not-flat roofs;
*lack of corner archways (bottom-right)

From smaller things it's:
*windmill sprite;
*cool smoke animation;
*more varied trees/bushes;
*that buttress lamp that always comes with a buttress :v

Most of the times it's a small variation of details i can choose from that bothers me, but usually i somehow manage to come up with desired effect by using what i've got. So it's not that bad i guess. :v
But, yeah, there's surely space for something better.

p1jgHhU.png

Borders could have more variations. This should help with designing unique shapes, get more natural look.
I agree with @2Rec
I have never seen an epic forest with huge trees :(