• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

First try on an armor

xydius

Just an otland wanderer
Reaction score
Well im new at this stuff and im not really sure about antialising and stuff lol but whatever heres my first try

pRIEphs.png

im open to suggestions, i know the colors arent the best choices but i was just doing random stuff until something looked somewhat nice

also if someone would like to improve it and show it to me id really like that so i might learn a bit :D

ooo well i was bored so i made another sprite, this time its a shield well here it is

oqWjLTY.png

i was trying to do an effect so it looke like the "horns" pointy thingy were curved and the part around the uhm jewels maybe in the midle were somewaht curved also haha i dont know again just doing stuff until something looked nice xd

heres the outline if someone has a better idea for the colors

OLpNhWy.png

Last edited:
Hey mate!
Let me point some things you could improve on that.

I can see that you tried to do anti-aliasing, and you did it but needs more calibration.

You split your sprite in dark lines, then shadowed the edges with AA
This creates an effect we call pillow shading, and ends up blurring the sprite (excess of AA).

2pr78k1.png
(a edit showing about "volume step")

Pillow shading reduces the contrast of the sprite, which consequently reduces the volume of sprite.
Then it is always good before the "AA step", have well-defined location of light and shadow / "volume step".

What more to improve:
- In a matter of design, it's better to show the holes from the armor or it looks like RPG Maker flat armors.