• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Linux Installing & Using 7z

Red

Cyntara.org
Staff member
Global Moderator
Premium User
Solutions
Reaction score
Hello, I used to be a noob. I used to upload entire folders to my dedicated server because I thought only .tgz was available (which Windows never compressed correctly).

This small, simple, basic tutorial will show you how to install 7zip on your Linux machine via command line, and how to extract files. This is how I use it on Debian, and it will likely work for Ubuntu also. Anyway, there's not a lot to teach, but if you were uploading files like I was, this tutorial will be very helpful to you.

First, type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install p7zip-full

After installing, you can now extract 7z files. Upload your new file (compressed using 7z on Windows or whatever OS you're using) however you normally do, then go to the directory of the upload using cd /path/to/dir (but you should already know that) and type the following:

Code:
7z x yourFileName.7z

Case sensitive! Your terminal screen should fill up with extracting messages, and it should be extracted in a matter of seconds.

This method can save you a lot of time when uploading your server files & updates to your Linux machine. I understand this is a very primitive and basic tutorial, but hopefully it helps some people who didn't know.

Red

about win rar :D

Code:
apt-get install unrar

Code:
unrar x yourfilename.rar

Last edited:
That's another option, I guess the main point was to show people that you can use these kids of compression methods on Linux & extract them. Winrar works, but I think 7z compresses the best.

Red

Your right, 7z is the best encryption but rar and zip solutions might be handy too.

Code: