• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

My own learning / development thread.

Skadarn

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

In a few days I will get my answer if I get accepted into a 2-year program to change my professional life. During these 2 years, I am going to learn how to code and as a side project to practice I will be making an OT. This thread is mostly just for me to keep as a diary, to try and hold myself accountable and after 2 years hopefully have a development thread that shows my journey from a clean start with zero knowledge to a finished product and knowledge to go with it! I will update as I go, might be several updates in a day and then nothing for a week so don't expect too much!

I have zero previous experience in this area and I have legit no idea what I'm doing right now haha even if I am not admitted I will apply again and keep learning through this project in the meantime.

With some help from some seniors here on the forum I managed to learn how to compile for the first time two weeks ago, and then I learned a little bit about GIT and GitHub. I also did some manual mapping to have a base to work from. So far, thank you to everyone who has already answered my PMs and accepted friend requests on Discord. I really appreciate all the help and patience it must have taken to answer some of my questions. 🫣

So as a first post, I think I will just write down what my plans are, where I am at right now, and what I think my next step is. I will do a lot of trial and error; things will not be optimized, but I will learn as I go!

My plans:

• To learn as I go in a trial-and-error style and not stress it, use this project to practice what I'm learning.