• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

New TFS logo / icon

Sarah Wesker

ค∂vαηcε รүηтαx ❤
Support Team
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,072
Solutions
107
Reaction score
1,141
Location
London
GitHub
MillhioreBT
Twitch
millhiore_bt
@River KA I see that you are taking this very seriously, and it is probably you who will finally give an icon to the project very well!
Regarding the icons, very beautiful, however I agree with @StreamSide you should change the font, it must be visible in any size and have a more embedded font with the image itself
 

Shadow_

Veteran OT User
Joined
Jun 2, 2018
Messages
921
Solutions
30
Reaction score
346
i think of otland icon for this not tfs
My third and last try.

View attachment 54645

View attachment 54646

View attachment 54647

View attachment 54648

View attachment 54642

Original image has 8192x8192 pixels.
But it's an vector project, so it can have literally any size.

All sizes: (click here)

Made by me (River)
Inspirations: Firefox icon, nut idea of @Sarah Wesker and some others
that is absolutely interesting
 

MagicWall

Veteran OT User
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
112
Solutions
5
Reaction score
304
My third and last try.

View attachment 54645

View attachment 54646

View attachment 54647

View attachment 54648

View attachment 54642

Original image has 8192x8192 pixels.
But it's an vector project, so it can have literally any size.

All sizes: (click here)

Made by me (River)
Inspirations: Firefox icon, nut idea of @Sarah Wesker and some others

For me at now it's the best logo at now, but I think this acorn not fit to this concept.

Maybe if you add in background something like terminal with TFS name?
Or maybe with other console prints?

But this squirrel like (similar to mozilla firefox) logo looks insane.

Can you put image without acorn?

1612710751763.png
1612710775719.png

Sorry for my graphics skills.
 

Nekiro

Legendary OT User
TFS Developer
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
2,553
Solutions
119
Reaction score
1,861

Felipe93

Ghost Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,760
Solutions
9
Reaction score
285
Location
Chile
AN ACORN ICONN WOULD BE GOOD
Post automatically merged:

a9xRknl.jpg
THE OLD ICON IS QUITE GOOD TOO, MAYBE WITH FEW IMPROVEMENTS IT WOULD BE OK
 

Shadowsong

Game Developer & Graphic Designer
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
3,433
Solutions
21
Reaction score
2,909
Location
Bosnia & Herzegovina
YouTube
ShivaShadowsong
My third and last try.

View attachment 54645

View attachment 54646

View attachment 54647

View attachment 54648

View attachment 54642

Original image has 8192x8192 pixels.
But it's an vector project, so it can have literally any size.

All sizes: (click here)

Made by me (River)
Inspirations: Firefox icon, nut idea of @Sarah Wesker and some others

I think you could even remove the text TFS from the nut, it gets in the way of recognizing the squirrel is holding a nut on smaller dimensions and the text becomes unreadable anyway. I really like this one.
 

River KA

Veteran OT User
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
484
Solutions
23
Reaction score
281
i think of otland icon for this not tfs

I could edit it for the forum.


that is absolutely interesting

Thanks.


For me at now it's the best logo at now, but I think this acorn not fit to this concept.

Maybe if you add in background something like terminal with TFS name?
Or maybe with other console prints?

But this squirrel like (similar to mozilla firefox) logo looks insane.

Can you put image without acorn?

View attachment 54661
View attachment 54662

Sorry for my graphics skills.

Without the nut will be ugly, IMO.
Filling the whole circle too.
But I tried something filling part of the background with the open source color (green).

Take a look at the bottom of this post.


very good, love it. Just dont like that you can get it confused with firefox.

Any idea for that?
I tried another change.

Take a look at the bottom of this post.


I think you could even remove the text TFS from the nut, it gets in the way of recognizing the squirrel is holding a nut on smaller dimensions and the text becomes unreadable anyway. I really like this one.

I won't remove the TFS text since it's visible enough even for small sizes.
And thanks. I appreciate that.


---


Tiny at folder and at task bar:
1612753809081.png (yes, it changes the icon image when is tiny)

Large at folder
:
1612730360218.png

Extra large at folder:
1612730379199.png

Original icon image as 1024x1024:
tfs_icon_3_opensource_1024x.png


The background is green because of the open-source concept.

Important: The circuit lines are not drawn as vectors AT THE MOMENT, but it will if people like it.
 
Last edited:

GhostX

Mapping Board Moderator
Staff member
Board Moderator
Joined
Nov 2, 2011
Messages
6,044
Reaction score
1,775
Location
UK
Twitch
ghostxpr0
I could edit it for the forum.




Thanks.




Without the nut will be ugly, IMO.
Filling the whole circle too.
But I tried something filling part of the background with the open source color (green).

Take a look at the bottom of this post.




Any idea for that?
I tried another change.

Take a look at the bottom of this post.




I won't remove the TFS text since it's visible enough even for small sizes.
And thanks. I appreciate that.


---


Tiny at folder and at task bar:
View attachment 54682 (yes, it changes the icon image when is tiny)

Large at folder
:
View attachment 54669

Extra large at folder:
View attachment 54670

Original icon image as 1024x1024:
View attachment 54668


The background is green because of the open-source concept.

Important: The circuit lines are not drawn as vectors AT THE MOMENT, but it will if people like it.
This is perfect imo.. Looks very clean and simple.. I vote for this!
 

Stanos

Advanced OT User
Joined
Jun 12, 2018
Messages
518
Reaction score
233
I could edit it for the forum.




Thanks.




Without the nut will be ugly, IMO.
Filling the whole circle too.
But I tried something filling part of the background with the open source color (green).

Take a look at the bottom of this post.




Any idea for that?
I tried another change.

Take a look at the bottom of this post.




I won't remove the TFS text since it's visible enough even for small sizes.
And thanks. I appreciate that.


---


Tiny at folder and at task bar:
View attachment 54682 (yes, it changes the icon image when is tiny)

Large at folder
:
View attachment 54669

Extra large at folder:
View attachment 54670

Original icon image as 1024x1024:
View attachment 54668


The background is green because of the open-source concept.

Important: The circuit lines are not drawn as vectors AT THE MOMENT, but it will if people like it.
Looks interesting but i would remove word TFS because its unreadable and probably would add some shades/highlights since you using gradients already and since there is three depth layers which is nut,fox,open-source circle, you should go for that depth, there is no point going for flat look anymore. Quick sketch what i mean
da0cb243ac7b4434a699eb2e1f424b2a.png
 

River KA

Veteran OT User
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
484
Solutions
23
Reaction score
281
Looks interesting but i would remove word TFS because its unreadable and probably would add some shades/highlights since you using gradients already and since there is three depth layers which is nut,fox,open-source circle, you should go for that depth, there is no point going for flat look anymore. Quick sketch what i mean
View attachment 54692

Again, TFS is readable. The only size that is not, is the tiny one (16x16), but, for that, the "head icon" is used instead.

I used the Firefox icon as main inspiration, and there is no shades at all.
I don't know if you noticed, I use shades only at the base of the nut just to make a subtle highlight for the TFS through the contrast between the squirrel and nut.
And, since mostly of the base of the nut is filled with the readable TFS and these letters uses no shades, I see no reason for not to make this subtle highlight.
Shades are not good for small sizes, so is not good for icons also.

I tried to make a lot of shades with the previous nut (my second try in a previous post), and it make the small icon looks horrible.
Firefox uses 3 layers also (fox above, blue ball representing the world, and the fox's tail) and still does not uses shades at all.
 

Shadowsong

Game Developer & Graphic Designer
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
3,433
Solutions
21
Reaction score
2,909
Location
Bosnia & Herzegovina
YouTube
ShivaShadowsong
Again, TFS is readable. The only size that is not, is the tiny one (16x16), but, for that, the "head icon" is used instead.

I used the Firefox icon as main inspiration, and there is no shades at all.
I don't know if you noticed, I use shades only at the base of the nut just to make a subtle highlight for the TFS through the contrast between the squirrel and nut.
And, since mostly of the base of the nut is filled with the readable TFS and these letters uses no shades, I see no reason for not to make this subtle highlight.
Shades are not good for small sizes, so is not good for icons also.

I tried to make a lot of shades with the previous nut (my second try in a previous post), and it make the small icon looks horrible.
Firefox uses 3 layers also (fox above, blue ball representing the world, and the fox's tail) and still does not uses shades at all.

You keep reiterating that TFS is readable but seriously it's not, not even on 32x32, and barely on 64x64. On that one, it could benefit from a darker outline.

I think it's better without the shades too.
 

River KA

Veteran OT User
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
484
Solutions
23
Reaction score
281
You keep reiterating that TFS is readable but seriously it's not, not even on 32x32, and barely on 64x64. On that one, it could benefit from a darker outline.

I think it's better without the shades too.

On my monitor it is, so why I would lie saying that is unreadable?

1612796207678.png

1612796241625.png

Readable enough to me.

And the tiny, the icon changes to the head only. I think you understood that. xd
 

Shadowsong

Game Developer & Graphic Designer
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
3,433
Solutions
21
Reaction score
2,909
Location
Bosnia & Herzegovina
YouTube
ShivaShadowsong
On my monitor it is, so why I would lie saying that is unreadable?

View attachment 54699

View attachment 54700

Readable enough to me.

And the tiny, the icon changes to the head only. I think you understood that. xd

If you really want to get into it, think about it, the logo is 32x32, and the text takes up (width-wise) about 30% of that, let's be generous and say that's 11 pixels. You can't comfortably fit 3 letters with an outline in 11 pixels and make them readable. Even photoshop limits smallest font size to 6px per character, and that's without letter spacing accounted for. After all that, you have to pass it through the filter of different screen resolutions, icon size settings and pixel densities people may use on their devices, and you get a wide array of situations where it's not okay.

The point is, the text doesn't have to be present in order for the icon to represent what you want it to represent. People will associate the otland squirrel and the nut with TFS, they don't need the characters 'TFS' to make that connection, the executable's name is right there next to the icon most of the time anyway, and anyone else who is not acquainted with TFS who looks at it wouldn't know what 'TFS' is anyway.
 

Nekiro

Legendary OT User
TFS Developer
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
2,553
Solutions
119
Reaction score
1,861
If you really want to get into it, think about it, the logo is 32x32, and the text takes up (width-wise) about 30% of that, let's be generous and say that's 11 pixels. You can't comfortably fit 3 letters with an outline in 11 pixels and make them readable. Even photoshop limits smallest font size to 6px per character, and that's without letter spacing accounted for. After all that, you have to pass it through the filter of different screen resolutions, icon size settings and pixel densities people may use on their devices, and you get a wide array of situations where it's not okay.

The point is, the text doesn't have to be present in order for the icon to represent what you want it to represent. People will associate the otland squirrel and the nut with TFS, they don't need the characters 'TFS' to make that connection, the executable's name is right there next to the icon most of the time anyway, and anyone else who is not acquainted with TFS who looks at it wouldn't know what 'TFS' is anyway.
Same, the text isn't really needed. I would even say it gonna look better without it.
 
Top