• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

[FAQ] I'm a complete noob

ArchKnight

Reaction score
Can someone point mt to the FAQ ?

Can't seem to find it. The search function doesn't seem to help. So I guess I'll ask some basic questions here & test how friendly this place is:

Q: What is this place ?
A: Well I can answer this sorta. It's a forum to download a open source tibia client or just maybe a place to talk about them. This seems to be one where English is the most spoken language.

Q: Is this legal ? Can't you be sued by Tibia ? I heard they don't like that this OT is taking away their business.

Q: So it uses C++ ? Since one topic had C++ in the title, that would be my guess & something called Mqsl or something.

Q: Can this thing be hosted by a solo person without any outside help ? Or does anyone have to connect to a common Msql ? Do they have to donate to that Mqsl ?

Q: So far, every game seems to be begging for donations, Ha. Are there any games that where you don't have to pay for a premium account ? Some games even have it where you pay REAL money to get items in game.... That kind of thinking is why I left the real Tibia.

Q: This forum doesn't seem to have many posts for something claiming to be so old. Or was i mistaken. Is this the number one top site for Open Tibia ?

Q: How much programing is involved to get a server up & what would the time frame be ?

Q: I googled "Tibia server" & found http://www.otservlist.org/ I clicked on the American flag servers but the forums for those severs are not in English... What's up with that ?

Q: I see a lot of servers described with 4 things:
Exp x?
Mag x?
Skill x?
Loot x?