Terrible problem with FPS when playing Tibia

Discussion in 'Tibia' started by Recreant, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Hello there.
    I don't know if i should seek help there, but I have no other idea so let me ask for your help.
    When i start ANY tibia client, my FPS and game fluidity seems fine, unless i use fullscreen. And i am forced to use fullscreen ,because i learned how to play only with fullscreen enabled and it allows me to aim my SD's easier (oldschool player here). But when i do that, my game feels like i played with 15-20 FPS when my PC is really good and the problem doesn't really occur until i enable fullscreen. Do you have any idea how to find a solution on this, or is this just some weird problem with my computer? I haven't installed anything, didn't upgrade windows, the problem occured out of nowhere. And ideas what could cause that?
     
  2. Okke

    Okke Voidcore 7.4

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    453
    Best Answers:
    16
    Hello,

    you could supply us with some information about your hardware. Are you running directx9 or opengl on the client? Sometimes fullscreen applications are handled differently by your graphics card driver.

    Kindest Regards,
    Okke
     
  3. KearaOT

    KearaOT KearaOT Custom Mid/High Premium User

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    I suggest you install Driver Booster 5, its totally free and make a short scan for refresh all drivers, test this and answer. try to download any program for see the CPU ยบ
     
  4. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    I am running directx9. Tried every other option (opengl and dx5) and the problem is the same. My hardware:

    8 GB ram
    Intel core i5-5200U CPU
    Graphic card: Nvidia geforce 970M
    Operating system: Windows 10

    it's a laptop, if that' helps. Every other game works as intended, be it League of legends, cs:go, fortnite or something like that, it works properly without any issues. It's just tibia and every tibia client I used has the same problem, the screen shakes like crazy, it shows stable 110 fps but it feels like i played with 15-20, i am stuck on one walking animation for one minute and i basically move one square per second. Very annoying problem.
     
  5. KearaOT

    KearaOT KearaOT Custom Mid/High Premium User

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    run driver booster 5.
     
  6. Landera

    Landera Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    1
    I used too have that with the old tibia client but after tibia 11 its smooth
     
  7. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    That doesn't help me. I don't play on any tibia versions above 7.72.
     
  8. samco

    samco 4x4 Developer.

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    180
    Best Answers:
    5
    Can you share a screenshot of you graphics options in the client? The first window is the one which will apply for FS.
     
  9. Okke

    Okke Voidcore 7.4

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    453
    Best Answers:
    16
    Check your Nvidia-Control Panel, you may find an option that allows the application control the graphics, try disabling that and run the client in fullscreen mode once again. Also check that the resolution of the fullscreen game has the same measurements as the current resolution of your desktop (sometimes graphics card have problems when changing the resolution and drawing).

    Regards,
    Okke
     
  10. BahamutxD

    BahamutxD Jack of all trades, master of none

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    135
    Best Answers:
    11
    Make sure you are using your 970M instead of your CPUiGPU when not in fullscreen.
     
  11. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Updating drivers didn't help at all.

    I already disabled and enabled it back in nvidia control panel, it didnt change the situation. Game was very fluid as long as I didn't activate fullscreen, after I activated it everything went back to shit. I use 970M without fullscreen, but i think it swaps back (?) or something into my integrated graphic card which performing way worse.

    I remember that once in a while, on certain Tibia clients, when i activated fullscreen it notified me that "This isn't optimal size for this application, system is gonna introduce changes after you restart the application". When it happened, I just used the tool to resolve problems with compatibility and it was normal again. What happened after the system introduced changes? It made my crosshair twice as big, basically 1,5 tibian square meter wide and it was really tough to aim with that. Performance was better, but it was really annoying to aim sd. So i just resolved problems with compatibility every time i started the clien't so it wouldn't happen. Now i have this problem that game doesn't work fluidly in fullscreen mode.
    Imgur: The magic of the Internet

    Imgur: The magic of the Internet
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  12. Strongman

    Strongman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Hey I have same problem, you fix it?
     
  13. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0

    yeah, i fixed it. I downloaded windows update, but i don't know how it works at all. If i run into any FPS issues i just search for windows updates and it resolves the problem somehow, i don't know how this shit works really
     
  14. Strongman

    Strongman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Can you give me link to download it?
     
  15. Recreant

    Recreant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    just go to your windows updater settings and click "check for updates", that should do the trick
     

Share This Page

Loading...