• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

[Concept] Dynamic Maps

dragaoart

Since 2009...
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a web developer and OT enthusiastic.

Today I'm presenting you a concept for discussion: Dynamic Generated Maps.

Dynamic Maps
Dynamic maps are maps generated by the server, based on a map template, that will be allocated in the server memory for Raid-like events.

This concept consists in creating a map when a player or a team join in a party quest(Raids) or arena.
That area of the map is cloned as an object and stored in the server memory, then allow that same area to be re-used if needed another Raid. It will generate an infinite amount of that map piece, depending on the number of parties joining the same Raid.

In example:

Party - 4 players:
  1. They go to the entrance location, find the activation switch, with all 4 members in defined spot to be transported to a quest area.
  2. Once they activate the switch, that quest area will be cloned by a function code, allocate that same map on a new memory location.
  3. After that, when they are inside the quest, another party with new members try to enter the same area.
  4. Then the server will generate again, another map, with the same tiles, but in a new pseudo-location. Not necessarily inside the map, but in virtual map.
Problems:
  • Generate a map tempate without interfering on the current map system.
  • "Cloning" a piece of the map without high memory usage.
  • Manage a systemic memory allocation to define when the party if off the map to delete and free the memory to a new Raid.
Discussions are welcome!

--edit
Recommended link #1 Generating maps? - The idea of this script is to spawn random areas on the map. It is a nice start point.