• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

How to choose the most suitable stack?

rickgv

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, but I hope so. If not, please point me in the right direction.

Regarding my question:

I'm a web developer who refers to the technologies I use to build my apps as my "stack." Although outdated, I have some prior knowledge about tools for building a custom OTS, such as map editors, AAC, server engines, and game clients. However, due to the numerous versions (protocol, server, and client) and tools available, I'm a bit lost on how they fit together compatibility-wise and where to find them.

Where should I start?

For example, if I decide to use Otland TFS (GitHub - otland/forgottenserver: A free and open-source MMORPG server emulator written in C++ (https://github.com/otland/forgottenserver)), how can I locate a compatible game client (like OTC v8) and the tools for working on maps, items, NPCs, etc.?

PS: I don't intend to create a copy of Tibia, but a custom game of my own.

Thanks for all the help.

In general you could just go with the latest up to date of all the programs you mentioned, if you wish to create something that is NOT Tibia related, just because of the functionalities and what not.

If you do want to create a Tibia server you have more options for older distro's etc, but would make sense to just take the latest of everything unless you want to run a more old-school or bare-bones server to start on, then you would need to do a bit more research for what versions of programs you need to use.