• There is NO official Otland's Discord server and NO official Otland's server list. The Otland's Staff does not manage any Discord server or server list. Moderators or administrator of any Discord server or server lists have NO connection to the Otland's Staff. Do not get scammed!

Open a open tibia server in my own home? - Discuss

bury

Solutions
Reaction score
Hi.

Some years ago I had my server hosted in a Debian OVH server but I started working and decided to close it. Now, with more spare time, I tried to open the server in my own home so that I can save some money/month. I've been working for a couple of months for changing everything from linux to windows, also found a 0.4 64 bits tfs so it was awesome.

My hardware:

- i7 6700k
- SD Crucial 250gb
- 32 gb RAM

Bandwith:

- Symmetric 300 mbps

I made some test with foreign friends and the ping was good, also they had 0 lag. My cpu was 10% of use always and my RAM 40% with lot of things opened like chrome, firefox, tibia clients, media or some game like overwatch. It was great.

---------- ONCE OPENED:

The first problem I had was the dinamic ip, a static costs 25€/month so it doesnt worth. If the router doesn't turn off everything goes fine.

The server was working fine but 3 days after it was online for the first time, I got ddosed and someone of OVH tried to enter my facebook (I got an alert, searched the ip and it was of OVH). I also couldn't advertise here in otland I dont know why, I couldnt create the topic.

-----------

Do you know what can I do? Any advice for avoiding this ddos attacks? The cheaper ovh server costs 60€/month, but I see now windows server is included on the price, isn't it???

Solution
Linksys routers usually has a DDNS service that will link to DynDNS.org. This basically allows your router to automatically notify and update the ip of your no-ip.org domain records when your IP changes. Might be worth a try for home hosted servers.